Tags

Like so many in the running community, I was absolutely shocked and deeply saddened at the bombings in Boston yesterday.  I wanted to cry all day and was definitely not productive for the rest of the day.

I’d planned to run that night.  I wanted to run, too, after hearing about the bombings.  Because I was angry, because I was sad, because I feel violated.  Instead, I watched the news all night with Ron.

A few people have asked me if I’m going to stop running marathons.  And my answer is no, because I do not want to let “them”, whoever they are, win.  I don’t want to live in fear.

A few other people have told me that they thought of me and Ron when they heard the news.  It is very humbling to hear that, especially since I’m nowhere near a Boston caliber runner.  But people care, close friends and acquaintances alike.  They know that I like to race and they thought of me in the wake of the terrible news.

Tonight, I ran 2.62 miles.  For Boston.  2.62 humid gym, treadmill, breaking in new shoes miles.  I ran it in my Martian Half Marathon shirt.  It was sticking to me by the end.  I couldn’t wear a race shirt to work, but I did wear a blue sweater and a yellow scarf.  Boston Marathon colors.

