Tags

, , , , ,

First, Happy Easter!

I’m in Pennsylvania for the weekend, so I made sure to get my long run in before leaving Michigan.  But let me back up a bit.

After Track Party Tuesday, I ran a slow three miles as a recovery run.  Following my recent pattern, my calves were tight and painful.  It seems I can run faster or longer without my calves bugging me, but when I try to slow it down, they throw a fit!

On Thursday we had a training session and it was unfortunately legs day!  My legs were still dead and I had 10 miles to run the next day.  Ron asked the trainer to go easy on us.  Although he agreed, none of it was easy!  At the end, he suggested we do 45 minutes of cardio.  My legs were jello, so that was NOT what I wanted to hear and not what I was planning.  But I hopped on the treadmill (the idea of 45 minutes on the elliptical did not sound fun) and ran/walked 4 miles.  Ron later told me that the 45 minutes were to help our legs for our run in the morning.  Not sure if that was good or bad advice, but I did it anyway.

Ready to Run and the sun is shinning!

Ready to Run and the sun is shinning!

10 miles on Friday.  10 miles seem to be my mental threshold where I start to balk at the mileage.  But early Friday morning we headed out to the trail head to get the miles in before heading to PA.

This run was actually going really well until I hit 7 miles.  I was running 10:40s/10:30s and feeling as good as could be expected after a pretty heavy (for me) training week.  Then I started the 8th mile and I stopped to take in some more fuel and things kind of fell apart.  I lost all motivation and miles 8 and 9 were over 12 min/mile.  I managed to pick it back up for the last mile, but I was so ready to be done.  And the aftermath wasn’t pretty, my legs haven’t been THAT sore after a run in quite awhile.

10 Miles Done!

10 Miles Done!

About a year ago, I ran a 10 mile race in just over 2 hours.  I may still need to work on my stamina late in the race, but I am getting a tad faster!

 

