Tags

, , , , ,

Today was the 31st running of the Corktown 5K, which is run before Detroit’s St. Patrick’s Day parade.  All week long the forecast called for rain, but we lucked out with a gorgeous day and not a drop of rain!  Our car dashboard was reading in the high sixties by the end of the day.  Spring is in the air!  (If only that snow forecast for later in the week is wrong…)

The race didn’t start until noon, but with all of the traffic for the race and the parade, I wanted to get down there early to be sure we found a parking spot.  We had our tutus, our wigs, our headbands, our phones, we were dressed… good to go!

Tutus and wigs and headbands oh my!

Tutus and wigs and headbands oh my!

We got to the race area and saw cars parking and runners walking around.  They had something we didn’t have… race bibs!  ‘Doh!  Ours were back at the house, on the fridge where I wouldn’t forget them.  Luckily, it had only taken us about 15 minutes to get from our house to the race area and we still had an hour and twenty minutes before the start.  So we went home to get them.

Hanging out before the race.

Hanging out before the race.

We still had plenty of time to find a random sketchy parking spot on some side street, get to the race area and hit up the porta-potties.

Our bibs put us in the last wave, so with 15 minutes until race time we squeezed our way into the start area.

I decided I wanted to actually race this and see what I could do.  That was actually my plan at last year’s race too, but I did much better this year!  The start was super congested, but eventually I found a running lane.  My energy ebbed and flowed, I was working hard and kept slowing down and then speeding back up.  But in what looking back feels like no time at all, we were rounding the final corner, I was passing two guys and we were sprinting to the finish!

Splits from Ms. Garmin.

Splits from Ms. Garmin.

I’m clearly awesome at pacing.  While this isn’t a 5K PR, it is faster than I’ve run a 5K in years!  Maybe by the end of the year I’ll even be able to break 30 minutes in the 5K…

We collected our medals and some water and hung out waiting for Katie to finish.

IMG_1559In the end, we decided not to stay downtown for the parade.  It was getting a tad chilly and the skies looked like it might rain.  Instead we said a prayer that our car would still be in our sketchy parking spot (spoiler: it was) and headed home for lunch and a low-key rest of the day.

The former Michigan Central Train Depot, at the start/finish of the race.

The former Michigan Central Train Depot, at the start/finish of the race.

