Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday, I needed to get a “long” run in.  I really didn’t want to do it.  It was cold outside, and I was tired, and I had other things I wanted to do with my day.  But I’d skipped an easy run Friday night, and I know that if I’m going to have any chance of surviving the Nike Women’s Half Marathon at the end of April, I need to put the work in now.

By the way, my arms were still sore from another session with our trainer on Wednesday night.  I don’t run on my arms, obviously, but my mind also rebels against running when anything is sore.

Back to yesterday, I knew I had to go and had heard it might snow.  So I threw on a pair of running tights and a couple of upper layers and set out to brave the cold.  When I left the house, it was pretty clear, no snow.

I got about a mile in and my calves were cramping.  Ugh.  Every time.  I have gone through this song and dance enough times to know that eventually, probably, they will stop bothering me.  But getting to that point is frustrating.  So over the next mile plus I did some walking along with my running.  Long enough for my calves to loosen back up.  Luckily, after the second walk break, my legs were good enough to just continue on.

At some point, it started to snow.  At first, it wasn’t so bad, the sidewalks were still clear.  But maybe the last two miles, the snow was really starting to come down and cover the sidewalk.  And it was coming down fast!  Blowing right into my eye too.  I thought about cutting the run short because I didn’t want to fall, but I wasn’t really sliding around all that much and I wanted to just be done with the run.

Finally my watch beeped for 6 miles and we were done!

Ron at the end of our snowy run.

Ron at the end of our snowy run.

Truthfully, once I got a couple of miles in, this run wasn’t so bad.  I wasn’t really trying to run fast but my paces when I was running and noticed were all below 11 minute miles, which is encouraging for me.  My right Achilles tendon was a little tender during the run.  As that area gave me trouble while marathon training, I’m going to try to be careful with it – maybe ice it some tonight and try to fit some yoga in my schedule somewhere.  Overall, my legs are SORE now.

My very vague schedule calls for a 4 mile tempo run on Monday.  I’m not sure if I’ll be up for it or not, but I’d like to get some form of speed work in this week.  But for now, I’m looking forward to resting tomorrow!

