Tags

, , , , ,

The Running Gods gave to me:

Detroit Turkey Trot

Detroit Turkey Trot

11/22/12

5K: 38:08

The Detroit Turkey Trot.  This is just a fun race that I have run for a few years before the excesses of Thanksgiving set in.  Unfortunately, since I’ve been hosting Thanksgiving  for my family the last couple of years, I usually end up falling into bed exhausted the night before the race wondering why I signed up for it again.  Luckily, it is only a 5K.  And this year there was an added bonus of a medal!  By this point I realized I’d have 12 medals in 2012 if I could find another race with a medal, and this one fit the bill.

Waiting for the Race in Cobo Hall.  Ron, myself, my sister Katie

Waiting for the Race in Cobo Hall. Ron, myself, my sister Katie

There are corrals, but they are unenforced and hard to even find.  So I started a little further back than I probably should have.  Not that I’m a fast runner, just that this race attracts a lot of walkers as well as dogs and strollers.  All of which I support… but then have to weave through.  Oh well, I have learned in years past that this is not a course to PR on

I had meant to keep up the running after the marathon.  But every time I ran, my hip would ache and get sore.  I decided I needed some time off to hopefully let it heal.  During this time, we took a delayed celebratory vacation to Jamaica – our gift to ourselves for completing our MBAs.  We took it over our 6 year anniversary, so two celebrations in one.  In return, the vacation gave us the gift of Hurricane Sandy.  But luckily no one was hurt and once it passed we were able to resume some of our fun in the sun.  After getting back, our dog had knee surgery.  All of this led to not a whole lot of running, though I thought I might be able to run the whole 5K if my calves cooperated.

Nearing the end (stolen from Katie!)

Nearing the end (stolen from Katie!)

Interesting fact – this race is actually the largest race run on Thanksgiving Day in the US, and it shows.  This race is CROWDED.  I mentioned to Ron that we ran the Chicago Marathon with 40,000 people, one of the world marathon majors, and I did less weaving than in this local turkey trot.  But I was still running.  In fact, I was on track to have one of my best turkey trot times when:

Slowest race finish ever.

Slowest race finish ever.

Yeah, dead stop.  It took me 3-4 minutes or so to cross the finish line.  So frustrating.  But overall, it is fun to get up on Thanksgiving morning and get some running in before the feasting begins.  Someday I might even try out the 10K.

Katie, myself, Ron at the finish

Katie, myself, Ron at the finish

