Tags

, , , ,

The Running Gods gave to me:

Chicago Rock and Roll 1/2 Marathon

Chicago Rock and Roll 1/2 Marathon

7/22/12

1/2 Marathon: 2:55:45

Chicago Rock and Roll Half Marathon.  I was so excited for this race.  I was excited to go back to Chicago and I was excited to get a little preview of the Chicago Marathon course.  But boy, things did not work out in my favor.

Packet Pickup

Packet Pickup

This was my first Rock and Roll race and packet pickup was in McCormick Place, right on Lake Michigan.  It seemed easy enough to get to driving, but public transportation to and from there sucked.  I fought Chicago’s public transportation so much on this particular weekend.  I don’t use public transportation in my day-to-day life anymore, though there was a time I used it daily.  When I travel, I can usually figure a city’s public transportation system out, but Chicago really messed with me.  I cursed it all weekend long.

But back to the race itself.

Ron, myself, and my sister Katie at the race start

Ron, myself (with the crazy hair), and my sister Katie at the race start

I realized I was in trouble when I was already sweating from the heat and humidity before the race even started.  I didn’t want to admit it at the time though.  For about 4-5 miles, I managed to hold on to whatever pace group I was trying to keep up with (the 2:30 group I think?)  But the heat soon got to me and I fell behind.  And as the day wore on, I cared less and less about my time.  It became a mission just to finish.

Out on the course

Out on the course

Ron may have tried to take my picture a time or two.  I may have threatened bodily harm if he didn’t leave me alone.

Brooks Rocker - no, I do not want a picture with the giant blow up man, please don't photograph me.

Brooks Rocker – Also known as: no, I do not want a picture with the giant blow up man, please don’t photograph me.

It was not my best day.

Did I mention Ron was still battling his foot injury (Planter Fasciitis).  He was supposed to drop down to the 5K, but when the split came, he kept running.  He says it cured him since he stopped having as much trouble with it after this race.  Whether it did or not, I’m glad he was there, because this race was miserable.  (Sorry I was so grouchy Ron!)

Finish Chute

Finish Chute

But finally, finally, I was done.  It is my slowest 1/2 marathon of 2012.  And although I still love Chicago, I’d think twice before committing to a race of any distance here in the middle of the summer.

Recovery

Recovery

Thank goodness there were wet towels at the end.  And maybe a Popsicle.  And the requisite water and sports drink.  My favorite part of the course was actually towards the end when they were handing out wet sponges.  I wish I had those every 1/2 mile instead of just at mile 11.  I think I also eventually found some ice to shove down my bra and that helped me to finally cool down a tad.

Foreshadowing a bit, but I’m SO GLAD that my Chicago Marathon experience was nothing like this one.

 

 

