Tags

, , , ,

The Running Gods gave to me:

Escape to Belle Isle Medal

Escape to Belle Isle Medal

7/14/12

10K: 1:10:38

Escape to Belle Isle.  Belle Isle is a recreational island owned by Detroit in the middle of the Detroit River.  Unfortunately, like many things owned by Detroit, it is long past its prime and underutilized.  Still, I liked the idea of running a local 10K with a bonus medal.

Course Map

Course Map

Ron had actually hurt his foot and I asked that he not run with me to give his foot time to heal.  I would rather him sit out a 10K than miss our planned fall marathon!  But sitting out was hard for him to do.  He did not like being at the start of a race and not participating!

Runners on the course

Runners on the course

I’m actually in the above photo, which I just noticed.  Grey shirt, black shorts.  Sort of 3/4 of the way across the photo.

It was pretty hot on this day, and the heat got to me.  I had to walk part of the course, which was frustrating.  It was part of what seemed like a never ending summer of frustrating training runs.  I just couldn’t seem to hit the distances without at least one walk break.

Finish Kick

Finish Kick

So that is what is most memorable.  I ran alone when I hardly every do.  I walked when I wished I could run the whole thing.  It was really hot.  And I was so happy to see Ron on the course because it meant I could stop and drink some water.  (There is even a picture of me doing just that).

I would say it is a fairly well run event, I didn’t have any problems with packet pick-up or the course in general.  The turn for 5K runners was not marked well, but they made a point to announce where the real turn was.  That was the only issue I saw from the course.  The course wasn’t closed either, which wasn’t so much of a problem for vehicular traffic (there wasn’t a lot) but meant you had to weave around people out walking and running that were not part of the race.  Again, not such a big deal unless those people are walking in big groups.  Then it is hard to pass them.  Overall, I didn’t love this race.  It’s local, which is a plus, but the heat really got to me.  Plus, there isn’t a ton to see on Belle Isle, it all kinds of looks the same after awhile.  And what isn’t the same is just kind of a sad reminder that this park could be so much more than it is.

 

 

