Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Running Gods gave to me

Martian 10K

Martian 10K

April 14, 2012

10K: 1:07:27

Apologies ahead of time.  This post seems particularly heavy on the grainy phone photos.

The Martian 10K.  Ah!  A race in my own backyard.  Despite living here for six years, I hadn’t run any of the Martian races.  I volunteered once, but that was it.  This year was my year, and as a bonus, if you ran at least the 10K you received a medal.

Practicing my form

Practicing my form

The course runs through some Dearborn neighborhoods before heading to Hines Drive.  Hines Drive is a series of parks that run from Dearborn out something like 20 miles.  There is a jogging path the whole way and a wide shoulder for cyclists.  Along the way there are plenty of picnic areas, soccer fields, playgrounds etc.  I love it.  I often run here on long runs or take my bike out for some cross training.

The route back runs through and along the Rouge River Gateway Trail, which connects one of the main roads in Dearborn to Hines Drive via a 2 mile paved trail.  It runs behind the University of Michigan-Dearborn campus and also by the Henry Ford Estate.  It is nice and wooded and I run here even more often than Hines Drive.

The Rouge River Gateway Trail on an early April morning long run.

The Rouge River Gateway Trail on an early April morning long run.

I tried to turn this into a tempo run, but my watch stopped working part of the way through, so I ran purely on feel.  That watch has since been replaced by a much more reliable Garmin.

Ron and I

Ron and I

On this particular day, it was a tad chilly and overcast/rainy.  Otherwise, this race couldn’t be easier for me since it is so close to where I live.  The theme is a bit gimmicky, but also kind of cool that way.  Every mile marker had a blow up alien holding up the mile sign.

Martian Medals!

Martian Medals!

It is put on my Running Fit, a local running store.  They put on a lot of fun races in the Southeast Michigan area – I ran three this year!  Great local company that I support when I can, though their stores are a tad of a hike (30ish minutes) for me to just pop in.  There is also a 5K, Half Marathon and Marathon distance of this race!  I’ll probably do this race again in 2013.  Either as a 10K to work on speed or a Half Marathon as a long run.  How can I not?

