Tags

, , , , , ,

The Running Gods gave to me:

Cherry Blossom 10 Mile

Cherry Blossom 10 Mile

April 1, 2012

10 Miles: 2:01:04

The Cherry Blossom 10 Mile.  Back when I first started running races, I ran Louisville’s Triple Crown of running – a 5K, 10K and 10 mile – before running a half marathon.  I tried to recreate that experience in 2012, but there aren’t that many 10 mile races.  On a whim, I entered the lottery for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler.  I managed to win the lottery and gain entry and was on my way to DC.

Expo at the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile

Expo at the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile

My sister joined Ron and I to spectate for us.  We all had a great weekend in DC, except for a parking ticket that we fought (and won).  The Cherry Blossoms had already bloomed due to the early spring, but it was still nice to be out running in the spring!  I’d run this race again… but not in 2013.  I’ve got plans to dominate another race in DC…

Flags at the Washington Monument at night.

Flags at the Washington Monument at night.

We had a lot of fun sightseeing!  Probably spent too much time walking the day before the race though, because my legs were dead.  We visited a bunch of the monuments and a few of the Smithsonian museums after the race.

Lincoln Monument

Lincoln Monument

My goal was under 2 hours and I juuuuust missed it.

Hanging out before the race

Hanging out before the race

So much to do and see in DC!

Smithsonian Natural History Museum

Smithsonian Natural History Museum

