Tags

, , , , ,

The Running Gods gave to me:

Medal from the Corktown 5K

Medal from the Corktown 5K

Date: 3/11/12

5K: 32:32

First up is the Corktown 5K.  Run in downtown Detroit on the same route as the Saint Patrick’s Day Parade.  I knew of two St. Patrick’s day races, and will admit that I chose this one to earn that medal.  But I actually had a really good time.  It was a beautiful day, very warm for March in Michigan.

Hanging out before the race

Hanging out before the race

Ron and I loaded up on some Saint Patrick’s Day themed goodies and sported them during our run.  I had a fairly decent run for my fitness level, beating my 5K time from another race a few weeks prior by a minute and a half.

Medal Earned!

Medal Earned!

If I had one complaint about this race, it would be that it is sponsored by the Ambassador Bridge Company.  The company owns the Ambassador Bridge as well as the Michigan Central Train Depot (an “urban ruin” pictured below) and… well, the best I can say is that I am not a fan of the company AT ALL.

Ron in front of the Michigan Central Train Depot

Ron in front of the Michigan Central Train Depot

This would end up being one of only a handful of 5Ks I ran in 2012.  But I thoroughly enjoyed this race!  A good start to my 2012 racing.

